Tonight, I am Ranting

(TL;DR -too long didn’t read -Version: just in case you don’t want to read it all: Screw the holidays and especially screw people who are too self absorbed to be with family or too money hungry to allow others to be with family)

Full version:

The holidays were always a special time with my family growing up. It was the time of year that everyone made time to spend with family. Some people could only manage a drive-by visit and stay only long enough to have a quick bite to eat and see how everyone was before they had to take off again, but they managed it.

The holidays were times to reminisce about days gone by and share stories with family that we did not get to see throughout the rest of the year. We always ate too much and the adults usually drank to much. It was a good and happy time.

It seems those days are gone. Now it is more about. I don’t want to travel that far, or my boss won’t let me have the time off or is such and such going to be there because if they are, then I am not coming. What the ever living FUCK!?

Put your selfish me-me-me on the damn shelf for a day or a couple of days – whatever you can muster -but muster something- and become part of a UNIT, because you know what.. It isn’t all about YOU, it is about the unit known as the family unit. There are people that love you and want to see you. You are going to regret not spending time with the people you do love when they are gone just because you were too lazy or self absorbed to take an hour car ride. What is it too much to ask for you to step away from your console games or tv shows for a few hours and interact with the people who actually care about you?

Now on the other coin – employers – seriously let people have time with their family. Pay actual attention to how much you are working them and how hard they are working to impress you by doing a good job-let them have a few days with family- Yes this one is very personal for me. My husband is on call the rest of this week and weekend… then he is being sent to Dallas  for three days on Sunday. He also has standby Christmas weekend and New Years eve and New Years Day – The road to financial freedom is paved with loneliness and less freedom with our time. My whole upbringing and the spirit of the holidays is being shot to hell by all of this.

I am starting to really not give a damn about any of it this holiday crap. Is there any saving my holiday spirit.. not this year.

I am looking forward to spending Thanksgiving with my mother in law. I love her dearly and I love her son dearly. Too bad her son may only get a scant hour to spend with her this Thanksgiving.. the first Thanksgiving in YEARS that he has been able to even be close enough to spend time with her.

This concludes my rant.

hqdefault

3 thoughts on “Tonight, I am Ranting

  1. Thank you for being brave enough to speak your truth to not only a Muggledom who doesnt understand our path, but to a Pagandom, whose members are increasingly unaware of their own history & identity and are trying to bottleneck all witches into wiccans.
    And Rant On, sister!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts.